“A Mother’s Awakening”


(My experience after attending a 3-day Outreach Workshop on Spelling to Communicate with Elizabeth Vosseller, Growing Kids Therapy Center. With the hope of helping my minimally speaking 15-year-old Autistic boy learn to communicate through spelling with letterboards and lots of support.)

Where do you begin when you realize that you have your boy back? That you can now hope again and dream for your child. Where do you begin when you realize that all these years, you were wrong…? It’s like I’m living in a dream. Did that just happen? Did I just witness what I think I saw? How could it be? It just doesn’t make any sense. To look at him, he shows all the signs that he doesn’t understand. He acts so weird that I often can’t relate. For so long, we’ve been living side by side and I haven’t really “seen” you…. I’m sorry Matthew. That was the first thing that I said to him when I got home from the workshop. I’m sorry for not believing in you. I’m sorry for treating you like you don’t understand. But most of all, I’m sorry for having no faith and just hoping for a miracle or a cure to make life easier for you and ultimately for me.

Thank you, God, for bringing into my life an incredible person, teacher and friend, who gave me hope and never gave up on me and never gave up on Matthew. She could have left me long ago when she saw that I had no faith, but she didn’t. Instead she waited patiently and continued to guide me in the right direction. I don’t know if she realizes how special she is and how much she impacts people’s lives. Thank you, Jasmin. 😊

Thank you to Elizabeth and Christie for sharing their LOVE, passion, knowledge and hope with all of us. I was hoping for the miracle of acquiring faith through this workshop and that’s what I received. The unconditional love and support that you provided was so refreshing and so needed. Thank you. 😊

Where do we go from here? We go forward with renewed strength and purpose and most of all HOPE.

Related post

3 thoughts on ““A Mother’s Awakening”

  1. Pingback: ‘New perspectives are welcome’: An eye opening experience with letter boards – MCG Media Blog

Leave a comment